In 2007, after working at my previous place of employment for 10 years, I decided to look for a new job.  This process ended up taking up much longer than I had initially thought.  Not only that, it turned out to be much harder than I thought and was full of setbacks.  I would make it all the way to the interview (no easy task!) just to not get the job and have to start all over again.  This ended up being quite a frustrating process and it was hard to “keep on keepin on” as the saying goes, and it was harder still to keep focused on the final outcome…  Getting a job.   Considering I actually had a job at the time, it really was difficult at times not to throw in the towel and stay at my current job.  It was not a bad job at all, but I just wanted a better one.

Looking back on everything, I really think there was one little “trick” that helped me.  The trick was in keeping this goal in the forefront of my mind EVERY DAY.  Remember, this process took over a year, and I had to keep focused on the goal for the entire time.  So how did I do this anyway?  I picked something that would remind me of my goal and how I needed to not to “rest on my laurels”, but needed to “go, go, go”.

The 88 - My inspration

The thing I picked was a building.  “The 88” to be exact.

So, how did this work exactly?  Everyday, I would take the bus home from work.  The bus stop was across the street from a large building that was under construction (The 88).  Everyday, while I would wait for the Hwy 17 Express bus to pick me up, I would look at that building and watch the construction guys slowly build this thing.  Then I would tell myself….

“I WILL get a new job before that building is finished and has tenants who have moved in”

The race was on.

It seemed like a simple thing at the time, watching the building being built.  Looking back on it now, I realize that of all the things I did, that one daily exercise was really the most important.  It was the most important because it kept me focused and installed a sense of urgency on my quest.  You see, watching the building being built, I could see progress.  This progress on the building reminded me that I had to get my butt in gear if I wanted to reach my goal before the building was finished.

I have to say, it worked!

It was a close call, but I did end up getting that new job before the building was done.  For awhile there, it looked like I was not going to make it, but that just motivated me even more!

I got my new job just as the building was being finished.  One month later, the first tenants moved in.  However, I was not at the bus stop to see this, but I was already gone!